About the Marshal Service

The Cherokee Nation Marshal Service is a full-fledged, certified law enforcement agency with jurisdiction throughout the Cherokee Nation. The Marshal Service is cross deputized with 50 municipal, county, state and federal agencies. With more than 32 Deputy Marshals, the agency offers array of special teams focusing on prevention and justice in matters concerning criminal activities.

Domestic Violence

Domestic violence is a pattern of behavior used to establish power and control over another person through the use of fear and intimidation, often including the threat or use of violence.

Funding Sources

If your agency is looking for assistance in searching for grants related to law enforcements, the Cherokee Nation Marshal Service has compiled a list of links that might be helpful.

Marshal Training

All Cherokee Nation Marshals are required to recieve training at the Federal Training Center. The Artesia Training Division is responsible for designing, developing, coordinating, and administering advanced and specialized training programs for the United States Border Patrol, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Transportation Security Administration, and other partnering organizations

Sex Offender Registry

Pursuant the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 and the 2008 Cherokee Nation Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act, any convicted sex offender who lives, works, or attends school on “Indian County” within Cherokee Nation’s 14 County Jurisdiction must register as a Sex Offender with Cherokee Nation, in addition to any other state, territory, or tribal registration.